Food

Make Your Own Sushi (Bowl)

make-your-sushi-bowl

I love sushi. I’m just going to put that out there now. Actually, I love pretty much any kind of Asian food that—sushi, Chinese, hibachi, Korean. So when I came across this recipe for a “sushi bowl” I was both intrigued and cautious. Could this be the answer to having sushi at home without needing (or knowing how to use) the bamboo mats? I definitely wanted to find out. My parents, on the other hand, were less enthused when I first declared that it’s what I would be making for dinner a few months ago.

Essentially a sushi bowl—similar to how a rice bowl from Chipotle or Moe’s is a deconstructed burrito—is a deconstructed roll of sushi. I know, seems self-explanatory. It’s also a pretty simple meal to prepare (really, it takes 20-30 min. and you’re ready to eat) and you can add whatever you want to emulate whatever type of sushi roll you’d like.

So you guys have an idea of how much this makes up, I’ve found that this makes about 3 servings with a little bit of toppings and sauce left over.

make-your-own-sushi-bowl

What you’ll need:

  • Sticky rice
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 packages of crab meat (real or artificial. I use artificial because it’s easier to get and comes already cut into chunks)
  • 4 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 cucumber
  • toasted sesame seeds
  • dried seaweed (this is optional and just adds a bit of a saltier taste)

For Yum-yum sauce:

  • ½ Cup mayo
  • 5 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • ¼ tsp paprika (powdered or smoked)
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder

For Soy Sauce Reduction:

  • ½ Cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 4 Tbsp sugar

make-your-own-sushi-bowl-2

First, get your sushi rice cooking since it will take the longest to prepare. Just follow the directions on the back of the bag.

Next, start making your yum-yum sauce. Now, I’ll let you in on a recent discovery of mine. The last time I was at the store, I found a bottle of yum-yum sauce in the international foods section when I was picking up more soy sauce. I decided to try it and it is just as good if not a little better than the homemade version in my opinion. So, if you would prefer to buy this sauce instead of preparing it at home, I’ll leave you guys a picture of the one I found below.

make-your-own-sushi-bowl-3

If you would prefer to make your own yum-yum sauce (or just want to try it), then here’s how: Mix together 1 Tbsp melted butter, ¼ tsp paprika,  ¼ tsp garlic powder, 4 Tbsp white sugar, 1 Cup mayo, and 1.5 Tbsp apple cider vinegar in a medium bowl. Once thoroughly mixed, set aside. I placed mine in the refrigerator to let it sit.

make-your-own-sushi-bowl-4

Now that your yum-yum sauce is ready, start cutting up all your sushi toppings. This is whatever you’re going to put on top of the rice, a.k.a the “insides” of a regular sushi roll. For this recipe, this would be the cucumber, cream cheese, crab meat, and avocado. Cube the cream cheese and cut everything else into bite sized pieces. For the dried seaweed, I take a strip and tear it into smaller pieces before flicking a little water to slightly moisten the pieces and bring that salty flavor forward. As you can see, I left the individual ingredients in separate piles so that each person can assemble their own bowl.

make-your-own-sushi-bowl-5

Once all the chopping is finished, I make the soy sauce reduction as it doesn’t generally take more than 5-7 minutes. In a small pan, combine the ½ Cup soy sauce, 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar, and 4 Tbsp white sugar and heat on medium to high heat until it comes to a low boil. Let it boil for about 4 minutes or so.

As soon everything is finished, the fun part comes in. Namely, constructing your sushi bowl! Start with the rice and then add your toppings and sauce. I usually add the toasted sesame seeds last. And enjoy!

Let me know if you try this—I’d love to hear what you put in your sushi bowl!

❤ Rachel

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

