Beauty

Smash box Always On Liquid Lipstick Review

Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick

Smashbox came out with a new range of liquid lipsticks a few months or so ago now and people have been raving about them ever since. And I can see why seeing as they claim to do pretty much everything you could ever want in a liquid lipstick. According to Smashbox’s website, these Always On Liquid Lipsticks are supposed to be long-wearing and water resistant for up to 8 hours, feel feather light on the lips while at the same time not leaving your lips feeling like you live in the middle of the Sahara Desert. Sounds too good to be true right, my fellow lippie lovers? I decided to put the claims to the test and see if I’d found the holy grail of liquid lipsticks. Because this product has been so popular (and is a bit on the pricey side—they’re $24 each), I was only able to purchase three shades: Baja Bound, Dream Huge, and Let’s Dance.

Before I proceed with an individual breakdown and review of the colors I purchased, I’d like to say that each of these pictures show each color at the beginning and end of the day (so, 8am and 5:30pm) with no reapplication in between. I also found the formula for all three to be very comfortable to wear and unless your lips are already chapped prior to applying the product, I found that my lips didn’t really dry out.

Smash box Always On Liquid Lipstick Baja Bound

Baja Bound is described on the Smashbox website as being a pink coral color. I found it to be a bit more orange-y than I thought it would be and because of that wasn’t sure it was the best color match for me and made me glad that I hadn’t gone for Blast Off, a brighter version of Baja Bound. In the pictures above it looks a little darker than it actually is in person. There was a bit of feathering and the product sinking into the lines of my lips by the end of the day but I found this to be a minor con as the color pay off is high and even after 8 hours of wear, the fading was minimal around the edges. I also found that there was only a little transfer with this color.

Smash box Always On Liquid Lipstick Dream Huge

Dream Huge is described as a nice mauve-y pink but I think it’s a bit lighter than that on me. It’s still a pink but I don’t think it has as much of a purple undertone to it that the mauve description suggests. Again, as you can tell from the before and after pictures above, there was only a little fading along the corner edges. I have to tell you guys, this particular color is a champ. I wore this color on a day that we had an election earlier this summer and it lasted well beyond the 8-hour claim. Yes, it did fade a bit from eating and drinking but really it just gave my lips a softer look around the edges instead of the sharp look that liquid lipstick can sometimes give due to the precision it must be put on with. Because it was an election day (which, for anyone who doesn’t know usually means around a 12-hour day), that means that I applied Dream Huge around 8am and I took the last of it off during dinner with friends around 9-9:30pm that night. If there were any doubts about this line having staying power, I think that proves it does!

Smash box Always On Liquid Lipstick Let's Dance

I have to admit that Let’s Dance was both the shade I was most excited about as well as the most daring purchase of the three as I have never tried such a blatant purple tone before. I was curious about this one as it was the only shade I had not seen swatched in any of the swatch videos or pictures I’d found online that showcased the Always On line. I will also say that this shade shows up a bit more purple on than it does in the pictures, though I’d probably still classify it within the “berry” family. I experienced the most visible fading along the upper edges and in the corners with Let’s Dance but I think that’s to be expected since fading and smudges are much more likely to show with darker colors. Because of this, I would also say that this one also had the most transfer but honestly, all three had pretty minimal transfer.

Overall, I love these. The products all seem to be highly pigmented and they do last all day like Smashbox claims. If you’re super busy during the day or constantly on the go, you could definitely get by with just the initial application. Obviously, if you feel the need to reapply during the day or just like to touch up after lunch, go for it. One unique point that I’ve heard mentioned—and that I do agree with—is the shape of the applicator. As you can see below, it’s more than just your typical doe-foot. It’s hollow in the center and has a more triangle shape to help with easy application and precise outlines.

Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick applicator

Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick applicator side view

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d love to know what you guys think of these liquid lipsticks and what colors are your favorites. Let me know!

 

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

