Beauty

My Nighttime Skincare Routine

my-nighttime-skincare-routine

I’ll be honest. I do not have the best track record when it comes to taking care of my skin. However, this is something that I’ve been striving to change recently. As I entered my teens, I got used to using astringent and On the Spot (if needed) at night and a face wash in the shower but that’s all I’ve ever used up to now. But now that I’m a little older I’m starting to realize that I need to start taking better care of my skin. I’ve never liked lotion or the residual sticky feeling that lotion leaves behind (I know I can’t be the only one who hates the feel of lotion and sunscreen) which is part of the reason why I’ve never adopted a proper skincare routine before.

This routine is something I’ve been trying out for a few weeks now and I have to say, I really like the products that I’ve been using. Perhaps you aren’t familiar with some of these and will want to try them out or, if you are like me and dislike certain aspects of skincare, this will inspire you to not completely give up on finding something that works for you.

my-nighttime-skincare-routine-2my-nighttime-skincare-routine-3

Firstly, if I am wearing any makeup that day, I take it off using the Almay Oil Free Gentle Eye Makeup Remover Pads and Ponds Wet Cleansing Towelettes. The facial wipes can also remove eye makeup so sometimes I will just use that if I’m feeling lazy. The Almay eye makeup pads are a longtime favorite but the Ponds facial makeup wipes are a recent find. About two months ago, a friend recommended that I try the Ponds brand and I love it. In the past, I’ve felt that the makeup wipes I’ve used don’t remove all of my makeup but my skin feels so refreshed after using the ones from Ponds.

my-nighttime-skincare-routine-4

After I’ve wiped off any makeup, I move on to the Garnier Skinactive Micellar Cleansing Water. If I didn’t wear any makeup that day, then I start with this step. This product is fairly new on the market. I’d heard a lot about it and was curious to try it. Up to this point, all I’d ever used was astringent which is fine for teens but can become too harsh for you skin as you enter your early to mid 20s so I have been on the lookout for something new. Contrary to its name, it’s not actually water. It’s a cleansing solution that just cleans out your pores and removes any traces of dirt, oil, or makeup that may have been left behind. I like exfoliating cotton pads so I apply the micellar water with one of those. I also try to let this set for a minute or so to give the cleansing solution a chance to dry before I move on.

my-nighttime-skincare-routine-5

If I have a breakout or feel that I am on the verge of a potential breakout, then I will use Neutrogena’s On the Spot in those specific areas after the micellar water. Currently, I have the sibling to On the Spot which is Rapid Clear Stubborn Acne Spot Gel. This is supposed to be like On the Spot but slightly better. I personally haven’t noticed a huge difference between the two products. One works just as well as the other.

my-nighttime-skincare-routine-6

The last step to my routine is moisturizer. I’m still getting used to using lotion on a daily basis but I have really been enjoying the Ponds Rejuveness Anti-wrinkle Cream. I’ve found that a little goes a long way so this pot is going to last me ages. There is one size smaller than the one pictured above but I was not aware of this at the time I made my purchase. The pot pictured above is actually the medium size.  I love this moisturizer because it doesn’t leave that sticky residue, it dries fairly quickly, and while I believe it’s lightly scented, it’s nowhere near overwhelming. I like to use it on my face and neck.

And that’s my nightly skincare routine. I know that to some this may seem like a lot, but it’s really super simple and easy. I’d love to know what your skincare routine is or some of your favorite skincare products.

❤ Rachel

8 thoughts on “My Nighttime Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

