Beauty

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Review

A few months ago, I ordered some of Colourpop’s Ultra Matte Lip products. I’d heard and seen a lot about the brand but also about these lip products in particular. I filmed a first impressions video back when I originally received the package, that I will link here. Since then, I have had time to thoroughly try out these four lip products. Overall, I think the product line is great. Based on the four that I have, they are highly pigmented and dry super fast on the lips turning it from a liquid to a matte consistency. And surprisingly, I found that these don’t dry out your lips too much which is can be a common complaint among liquid to matte lipsticks. I personally like to combat any dryness by using Rimmel London’s Moisture Renew Lip Liner. It’s a transparent lip liner that moisturizes the lips while also creating a block against color bleeding.

Colourpop-review

The four Ultra Matte Lip products I ordered are pictured above. From top to bottom they are: Avenue, Beeper, Bumble, and Mars.

Colourpop-review-bumble

BUMBLE is, I think, a nice shade for an everyday look. It’s a subtle, almost terracotta color that doesn’t seem to appear unnatural on the lips. It’s a smooth formula that is comfortable on the lips. However, this color does transfer a little when eating and drinking. Despite this, I found that reapplication wasn’t necessarily a must after eating or drinking.

Colourpop-review-beeper

I was surprised by how much I ended up liking BEEPER. When I first tried it on, I thought it would be too brown but I found that it is also a nice neutral. The formula for this one is perfect because not only do you forget that you’re wearing it but it is also virtually transfer proof. I found that there is little to no transfer with this color which is great because I love not having to worry about whether or not I accidentally got some product on my chin.

Colourpop-review-mars

MARS is a bright, dark hot pink. It’s not quite Barbie pink but it is pretty bright. And because I have fair skin, it really stands out. I think this is a shade that would look great on all skin tones. I also experienced minimal transfer with this color which is great since because it’s such a bright, pigmented color, it would be very noticeable if any smudging occurred. I love this fun color even if I’m not always sure what to wear with it.

Colourpop-review-avenue

AVENUE is a gorgeous, dark Red Delicious apple red. On fairer skin it looks gorgeous, if slightly vampy. The formula is pretty buildable allowing you to layer it for a darker look or simply give you a red lip. The only problem I found with this shade is that unfortunately it transfers the most of the four I got. It seems that the formula only needs the slightest bit of wetness for the color to transfer. Surprisingly however, even with this excessive transferring, reapplication is not necessarily needed. I wore it to a wedding over the holiday season and despite all the color that came off onto my napkin during the dinner, overall my lips still looked pretty good at the end of the night without any reapplication.

Despite the transfer issues with Avenue and Bumble, I have been loving these liquid matte lipsticks. I think I’ve been reaching for them more than any of my regular lipsticks lately. The line has a vast variety of shades, they dry quickly, and last for ages so what’s not to love? I would recommend these.

 

❤ Rachel

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Review

Leave a Reply

