Food

Christmas Cookies

Who doesn’t love cookies? I think everyone loves cookies and other treats at this time of year.You guys may be noticing a pattern this month with my posts. I have had a bit more time lately and have been really enjoying baking and cooking.

I came across this recipe for sugar cookies while on Pinterest and let me tell you, it’s pretty great. The last time I attempted sugar cookies from scratch, they didn’t turn all that well. They were fun to make, sure, but they had nothing on the ones I made at the beginning of this week. If you love soft, tasty homemade cookies then definitely keep reading.

Christmas-cookies-1

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup of butter
  • 1 ½ cups of white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • ½ cup of sour cream
  • ¼ tsp of ground nutmeg
  • ½ tsp of salt
  • ½ tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 4 cups of flour

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Set this aside.

Christmas-cookies-2

In another bowl, cream together the sugar and butter.

Christmas-cookies-3Christmas-cookies-4

Once the butter and sugar are thoroughly mixed, add in the sour cream, vanilla extract, and egg. Mix until blended.

Christmas-cookies-5

Add the dry ingredients to this mixture. I added the dry ingredients a cup or two at a time to make the mixing process easier.

Christmas-cookies-6

Once all of the dry ingredients have been mixed in, wrap the dough in cling wrap and chill in the fridge for at least 45 minutes. I recommend chilling the dough at least this long because it will make the dough much easier to work with later.

Christmas-cookies-7

Go ahead and preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Then, on a floured surface, take the dough and roll it out. You can roll the dough out so that it is as thick or as thin as you would like but I don’t suggest going too thin. I’ve found that cookies that are slightly thicker, run a smaller risk of burning in the oven.

Tip: I also periodically rubbed flour along the length of the rolling pin. This also helped prevent the dough from tearing, especially if you are using cookie cutters with thin parts like the reindeer one I used.

 

I picked these up at TJ Maxx for around $5
I picked these up at TJ Maxx for around $5

Christmas-cookies-8

Then, place cookies onto cookie sheets. I lined the cookie sheets with parchment paper just to make clean-up easier but if you don’t want to do that, place the cookies onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake the cookies for 7-10 minutes or until they begin to look golden along the edges. I found that the first cookies took about 8-9 minutes or so to bake while cookies later in the batch took less time to bake.

Christmas-cookies-9

Once baked, allow the cookies to cool before decorating. This recipe makes a sizeable number of cookies however, the number will vary slightly based on the size of the cookie cutters used.

Christmas-cookies-10Christmas-cookies-11

Let me know if there’s a cookie recipe that you love to use! Also, be sure to check back tomorrow to see how I made the icing!

❤ Rachel

 

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

Leave a Reply

