Food

Latkes

latkes-1

Happy Hanukkah everyone! As I’m sure most of you guys know by now, my family celebrates both Hanukkah and Christmas because, well, we’re just that awesome. Each year we usually try to make latkes at least once during Hanukkah (the last few years with college being an exception). For anyone reading this and going, what the heck are latkes? I’ll tell you. They’re delicious first of all. Essentially they’re potato and onion pancakes. Stay with me people, they taste great if done right even if they don’t look like much. This year I decided that I would try to make them for the first time and documented it so we could take this journey together.

The first thing I should probably warn you is that there are dozens of variations on the same recipe. When I asked my mom for what recipe she uses, she showed me about five or six different ones that she’s collected over the years and used at different points. The end result should be the same; just the amount of latkes will vary depending on how many potatoes are called for. The recipe I went with was one published in a local newspaper and called for 5 potatoes.

latkes-2

What you’ll need:

  • 5 large potatoes
  • 1 large onion
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp pepper
  • ¾ cup oil

After you’ve rinsed the potatoes and onion, grate them using a grater or food processor into a large bowl. If you would like to peel your potatoes before grating them, you can. I chose not to.

latkes-3

After the potatoes and onion are grated, strain them using a colander to press out any excess water. Once this is finished, add the eggs, flour, salt, and pepper and mix well.

latkes-4latkes-5latkes-6

Take ½ cup of the oil and heat it on a skillet. This is the only area where I had a slight mishap. After I added the oil, I waited too long while it heated up thinking that it would burn down a little so that the latkes wouldn’t be soaking in oil. That only resulted in producing smoke so, don’t do that. It may seem like a lot of oil in the pan but it’s actually the right amount because the latkes absorb some of the oil and is what allows them to become crispy on the bottom.

latkes-7

Once the oil is heated, lower the flame and begin adding the batter by placing 1 large spoonful of the batter onto the skillet at a time. Wait until the bottom is golden brown before flipping them and frying the other side.

latkes-8

Once both sides are done, remove the latke from the pan and place onto a paper towel covered plate. The paper towels absorb any excess oil.

latkes-9

Serve with sour cream and/or applesauce and voila! I personally like both toppings so I tend to alternate between the two.

Hope you guys enjoy if you decide to try them! I’d love to know what you guys think of them.

❤ Rachel

2 thoughts on “Latkes

  1. We’ve actually made a variation of this. We did everything in your recipe but added grsted carrots and zuchini and ate it as a side dish at lunch. Never heard of eating it with sour cream. Bet it tastes great.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

