Beauty · Life

Denver Downs and Halloween Cookies

Hey y’all! How was everyone’s Halloween? Good…good…I had a pretty fun day too. For the last couple weeks my mom has been talking about a place near Anderson, SC called Denver Downs and the giant corn maze that they have so we decided to go for Halloween. Turned out to be a good choice not only because it was a nice day but also because Denver Downs was only open until November 1st. None of us had ever been to Denver Downs before so we weren’t exactly sure what to expect other than it had this giant 10 acre corn maze that was shaped after KFC (the design and sponsor for this year).

The corn maze itself was pretty fun and they had check points throughout that corresponded with a small map so you could figure out where in the maze you were. There was also an added component in that each checkpoint had a scan code so that you could scan or enter the code in your smartphone and trivia questions would pop up. Based on your answer to the trivia question would decide which way to turn and you would soon find out if you chose the right answer. We didn’t do the trivia component but we did see type in the code to see what the questions were like. And for those of you who enjoy horror and being scared at Halloween, in the evenings the farm turns into Harvest of Horror with things like a haunted house, haunted hayride, and more. We didn’t stick around for that.

Denver Downs and Halloween CookiesDenver Downs and Halloween Cookies 2Denver Downs and Halloween Cookies 3

 

 

 

 

 

In addition to the corn maze there were also tons of games and activities for kids from a small play area to a hay barn to tether ball to a jumping area (similar to a bouncy castle but in the ground) and so much more. The kids were having a blast. There was also a concession area where you could buy drinks, BBQ, and kettle corn. Let me tell you guys, this kettle corn? Perhaps the BEST kettle corn I’ve had. It was so good.

animal area
animal area

Denver Downs and Halloween Cookies 5

kid's bouncy area
kid’s bouncy area

 

 

 

 

 

We stopped by the store on the way home to pick up Halloween candy for trick-or-treaters and cookie ingredients. My friend Julia sent me some cute Halloween-themed cookie cutters and I couldn’t not use them. Thus, cookies. Both of the recipes I used for the cookies and icing I found on Pinterest. I think they turned out pretty well if I do say so myself. The recipe did make a lot of cookies however, so I decided to send some to both of my best friends from college as well as my brother. I’m actually thinking of doing this again closer to Christmas but with Christmas-themed cookie cutters. I like both recipes that I used but I think I would like to play around with them both a little.

Denver Downs and Halloween Cookies 7Denver Downs and Halloween Cookies 8

 

 

 

 

 

See you guys next time!

❤ Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

