Life

Post College Life

11206137_10155564159250014_1909442948048754047_n

As you guys can probably guess by the title of this post, I am now entering another phase of life–post college life. I graduated with my BA in Communication Studies about two months ago now. That was a weird and fun and surreal experience. The weather cooperated so that graduation was held outside and wasn’t super hot though it was still pretty warm. It was nice having my parents, my brother, and my grandmother up for that weekend as well especially since my hometown is so far away which means that my family has only visited campus a handful of times collectively. The last time my brother was on campus was during my orientation the summer before my freshman year. The whole thing was a bit surreal too because it was hard to believe that four years had flown by so fast and that we’d made it, we were done. The hardest part of that last weekend at school for sure was saying goodbye to two of my friends. We met during move-in weekend freshman year and have been really close friends ever since.

But, on a happier note, I’m really excited because one of them, my friend Julia, is coming down to visit me next week! She and I have been counting down the days to it all summer. I can’t wait. She’ll finally get to see my hometown that she’s heard me talk about for four years and meet my best friend from high school whom she also heard me mention quite a lot. I imagine that we will try to vlog like we did for our Canada trip during Spring Break (link here if you’d like to see that post and video) so be on the lookout in the next week or so for a vlog or two from us.

In other news, I am employed. Woo! It’s a part-time job at the local AM radio station in town. I run the soundboard at the station during the afternoon show. Since it is a small station, my boss only has 3 live shows (a morning one, an afternoon one, and a Saturday morning one) and then the rest are piped in from a larger station which is how a lot of stations operate. How else do you think Ryan Seacrest’s show or the Rush Limbaugh show reach across the country? It’s been an interesting experience so far because previously I didn’t have any radio background. My background is primarily in social media and TV and digital production so it’s been nice to be able to expand my horizon and learn some new skills.

Despite having this job, I am still looking for a full-time job however. Originally I was focusing my search mainly in the Carolinas because I wanted to stay in the Southeast after college but now I’m beginning to expand my search since I’m finding it a bit difficult. I realize that job searching takes a while and that you don’t necessarily need to have every qualification listed on a job request but I’m starting to realize that perhaps I was a bit over-optimistic when I set a goal of having a job by August. Technically, I do have a job, my part-time job, and while I’m happy for it, it wouldn’t exactly cover many bills if I were to move out of my parents’ place anytime soon.

I think that’s all I have for you guys right now. Tune in next week for some vlogs of Julia and I conquering South Carolina!

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

