Life

2014: The Year of Opportunity

2014-New-year-fireworks-photo

Happy 2014 internet! 2013 was a crazy one wasn’t it? I mean, let’s see what happened. Well, personally, I went to Ireland and got to study and travel and meet some really cool people. I got my first real job, got to see both Jim Gaffigan and John Mulaney perform, and, oh yeah, I turned 21. No biggie. Actually, I feel that most people my age would be disappointed to learn that I still have never been drunk before. Most of my friends’ reaction to that is, “How is that possible? You went to IRELAND!” Well, it’s possible because I’m living proof. Plus, there’s so much more to Ireland than the drinking. But that’s another tangent. But also, in the news, let’s take a look. Miley Cyrus, Katy Perry, and One Direction were all pretty big this year. Miley made headlines for her wardrobe choices and penchant for having her tongue on display. Katy Perry had several hits on the radio and released her latest album, Prism. And then there was One Direction. Not gonna lie, I do like them and I think that they might have had the busiest year of anyone in the industry. They had a few hits circulate the radio stations, finished up a big tour, released a new album, had an entire day set aside for them (remember the 7-hour YouTube gig?) AND released a movie. I haven’t been able to see their movie yet but I definitely want to. I love watching the concert-y type movies where the film splits between the actual performance and then tons of behind-the-scenes clips of how the show gets put together and just the little moments between the band members or the band and the crew. I will say though, I have kept up with their music videos and I love their video for Story of My Life. I think it’s really sweet and in some ways bittersweet in that nostalgic way. But yeah, holy crap guys. I like y’all but don’t over work yourselves! Take a vacation! You certainly deserve one. I could go on and add some of the other, more important news that happened over the last year like that ship that capsized en route to Sicily, the Boston Bombing, the choosing of a new Pope, or the death of Nelson Mandela. A lot happened.

95a1e5ba3547dc4bacbf695c9470607b967a6452

And even more is going to happen this year. You can take that optimistically or realistically. How did you guys ring in the new year? I definitely celebrated very differently this year than ever before. Mom got the family tickets (really good tickets) to the Chick fil A Bowl in Atlanta because Duke was playing. For those of you who don’t know, my brother is a sophomore at Duke which is why Mom even looked at tickets. So the four of us plus Jared’s girlfriend, went to Atlanta for the game. We also went to the Fanfest beforehand. If I’m being honest, I was a little disappointed by the Fanfest. I was expecting a band or something to perform because every other time I’ve heard of a fanfest there’s been a performer. But it was still something. Tons of cows everywhere. Watching the Duke football team walk out was probably the best part. I always think of how weird it must be for them. I mean, they’re college kids who have become semi-famous because they play a sport for their school and they’ve got a fan following. Anyway. The game was good. I know next to nothing about football so that’s saying something. The ending was unfortunate though, sorry Texas A&M fans.

We stayed until the end and the game ended around 11:45pm. So guess where we were when the ball dropped? Not in the hotel room watching the ball drop on TV that’s for sure. Nope, we were on the platform in downtown Atlanta surrounded by 1,000 of our closest BFFs waiting for MARTA. For anyone not familiar with Atlanta, MARTA is the train/subway system there. It was kind of funny and confusing because not everyone was counting down together. The crowd on one side of us were on 4 when the people on our other side were on 2. So we spent the first hour and a half or so of the new year navigating MARTA and making our way back to the hotel.

I’m sure you guys are wondering why I decided to title this post The Year of Opportunity. Well, part of it might have to do with the fact that I spent all day looking at and working on internship applications. There are a few that I’d be over the moon about if I got. But filling those out and just looking at where we are as a global society today got me thinking. Things have never been more possible than they are now. We are more connected globally than ever before and I think that we are really encouraged to do or go after whatever we want. There are people who have created a career or themselves making YouTube videos or blogging or traveling, etc. I feel that we are encouraged and supported to just create our career or create our own company if we can’t find something or somewhere where we feel we fit in or want to be. It kind of takes the go-getter attitude and the “the world is your oyster” metaphor to a whole new level. Just go out there and go after what you want. I know that I am not always the most optimistic person so if I’m excited about 2014 then you guys definitely should be. I just can’t wait to see what this year holds for me and what I will end up doing this summer. So I guess what I’m trying to say is that this year my resolution is to go after what I want. I may not necessarily know what I want to do with my future but I’m going to try my best to take every opportunity I can and to really pursue my passions this year. Who’s with me?

I’ll leave you with this quote that I believe is from Kyle Chandler: “Opportunity does not knock, it presents itself when you beat down the door.”

And whatever your new year’s resolutions may be, I wish you guys luck in keeping them. Happy New Year.

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

