Life

The End (of finals) is Near!

Alright so I think that I said I’d update over Thanksgiving break. Well…..as anyone who can read can see that didn’t happen. I had planned on doing a post about this year being Thanksgivukkah (happy belated Hanukkah everyone). For those of you who don’t own a TV or pay attention to the news whatsoever, this year the first night of Hanukkah coincided with Thanksgiving…thus, Thanksgivukkah. This won’t crop up again for oh….70,ooo years.  So it definitely wasn’t important or anything….kidding. That was sarcasm if you guys couldn’t tell. I tend to use it a lot. You could even say I’m fluent in Sarcasm. I’m sure some of my friends would tell you that it’s my first language. What can I say? It’s a gift.

So if you guys couldn’t deduce from my lack of updating, life has been busy. Wait, college kids have lives? By lives I mean classes, work, studying, extracurriculars, etc. And yes, I said work. I am now gainfully employed! For any of you who are parents, I’m sure you can relate when I say that my mom was more than overjoyed when she found out. Seriously. I sent her and Dad an email while they were in Rome (Dad had a business trip) letting them know and this was her reply: “HALLELUJAH!!! We went to the Vatican today and a miracle occurred!(You got a job!) You know, yesterday we were at a church and learned a lot about a woman who has been beatified. Maybe this can count as one of her two miracles and she can become a saint. Needless to say, I’m very happy about your news.” Bit cheeky if you ask me. And then an hour and a half later, she sent this: “Still doing the happy dance…” So she’s happy. I actually quite like it. My first day was the day before we went on Thanksgiving break. I’m a student worker so it’s office work which is fine. I copy/scan stuff for professors, run errands for the admin. person who is also my boss. It’s grand.

I know that most colleges are wrapping up and had finals this week like my brother. My finals start next week but honestly, I think that this past week was worse than next week is going to be. There was just so much due. Last week of classes and having all the final projects, papers, presentations to turn in and all. And I’m still not done. I’m only taking six classes and I have six finals, a paper, and a presentation between now and Friday afternoon when I leave for my grandma’s in Indy. To everyone else out there who still has tests or finals or projects or anything to do before Christmas, good luck!!

I cannot wait to be home and see my family and friends. I think Mom is going to forget that I’m 21 though. Okay, maybe not forget so much as she’s never seen me drink as I was at school when I turned 21.  It’ll be really cool though too because one of my best friends, Justin, is going to be home. Our breaks overlap that first week I’m home and then he’s back to grad. school. I also get to catch up on my Doctor Who. For those of you who don’t know what it is, it’s an amazing British TV series on BBCAmerica. They had a huge 50th anniversary episode a few weeks ago that I missed.

Because it’s near Christmas (12 days to go I think), I’ve been listening to Christmas music. Based on this, I doubt many of you will be very surprised when I say that I’ve discovered someone new. So…has anyone heard a little group called Pentatonix? They apparently were on The Sing-Off a bit ago? Well, I’ve been listening to their Christmas stuff and I quite like it. They are a five-man acapella group from Texas and are absolutely incredible! I think my two favorites right now are “Little Drummer Boy” and “Carol of the Bells.” I think I’ve also stumbled across a comedian that I am taking quite a liking to. A Mr. Daniel Sloss who is a young comedian from Scotland. I saw his stand-up act on Conan.

Alright, so I don’t really know where this post is going. I kind of thought that I’d figure it out as I went along but that clearly hasn’t happened so….I guess I’ll call it good until whenever I write again. That’ll definitely after finals though. Until then, my lovely people, I will leave you with a picture of a baby with a fun pacifier just because and the links to Daniel Sloss and Pentatonix underneath it.

11020131854131

Pentatonix–Carol of the Bells: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSUFzC6_fp8

Pentatonix–Little Drummer Boy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJ_MGWio-vc

Daniel Sloss on Conan: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFT8Lf4lsRE

If I don’t post before Christmas, Merry Christmas/Kwanzaa/whatever other holiday!

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

