Travel

Results!

Results for the placement test were posted on a big bulletin board in the Palais Universitaire this morning. They didn’t post what score we got, so I still dont’ know the scale, but I placed into level 4! That’s pretty much smack dab in the middle. There’s seven levels total, one being a novice and seven being almost fluent. So I’m in the middle. I think it’s good though. I was hoping for a 3 or 4 so I’m definitely happy. Honestly, I’ve just been really surprised since I got here because I understand and can speak much better than I thought I would be able to. I’m really happy that they speak slower in Angers though whether it’s because that’s just how it is here or because they know that we’re all foreigners, I’m not sure. But I’m happy all the same. I caught maybe 1 word in 8 when I was in Paris. Maybe.

There’s about 20 people in my level. So, we have a professor for our langue class (language) and then for the oral lab, the class is split into two groups and a monotrice is in charge of each of those. A monotrice is kind of like a T.A I believe. They’re old enough to be out of college I believe though they may be working on a master’s. Three of the girls from ND are in my class. Most of the class is either American or Asian. Lots of Japanese students. A few of the kids from Kansas are in my class too. I think there’s about 10 in their group. And then a girl from Serbia and a guy from Poland were at my lunch table. So very international.

We also got our book and workbook today which we’ll use until the end of the month at least. I’m not sure what happens once the semester here starts in October. Oh, and took pictures for our student ID. Sounds like we should be able to use that to get discounts for the movies, the museums, etc. So now that I have my ID, does that make me an official French student for a semester?

Class today went from 8:30 or 9AM to about 3:45PM. I think from now on we’ll start at 9AM which will be nice. Tomorrow will be a long day though. I’ll basically being going from 9 to 6:15. I’ll have an oral lab from 9-9:55AM and then langue from 10-12:15. Break for lunch before having oral again from 1:45-2:40 and langue from 2:45-5PM. That’s the end of classes. But there’s a presentation for the excursion to Mont Saint Michel et Saint Malo from 5:15-6:15. Our professor said it’s optional but that she strongly recommends everyone go even if they aren’t going on the trip because it would be good listening comprehension practice. So long day tomorrow.

But on the bright side, I got to Skype with my parents for a bit and talked with my brother on Facebook briefly. I think he’s busy. I feel kind of bad for him. He’s got a TON of Spanish work right now, not to mention whatever has been assigned in his other classes. I told him that was insane. He’s got it harder than I do at the moment and I’m not even in an English-speaking country. All I can say bud, is keep on trucking! You’ll get through it and you have a break coming up to look forward to.

As for me, I’m off to shower and bed. I’m excited to get an extra hour of sleep tomorrow.

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

