Life

A Downside to Southern Living

Okay, so you’ll have to forgive me because I’m still kind of freaking out. I just had to kill a decent-sized spider in my room. It fell on me. Yeah, you heard me, it FELL on me. As in it dropped down from the ceiling and landed on my arm. Eww. I’m almost wondering if somewhere I accidentally vexed Karma or something. Because this is the second time it’s happened this summer. Except last time, I was in bed and it was a cockroach. I was not happy.

This ladies and gentlemen, is a downside of living in the South. There are perks–like going to the beach, and nice, rolling hills–don’t get me wrong but bugs are definitely not one of the upshots. I know, I know, everywhere has bugs, it’s a fact of life, blah, blah, blah. Whatever. I know that it’s territorial. Arizona has snakes. Indiana has horse flies. Other places have normal bugs, we have cockroaches. More specifically, Palmetto bugs. As far as I’ve been able to tell, that’s just the fancy southern way of saying big-ass roaches. Cheery, right?

I’m not gonna lie, I am a girl. And like most girls, I have a girly reaction to finding bugs in unexpected places. Not the most extreme girly reaction but girly enough. I’ll kill it if I must but killing it definitely isn’t my first reaction. Usually I make someone else kill it. Ugh. Makes me shudder every time. Unfortunately, these stupid little things are just part of life down here. Not that we don’t spray down here because you better believe that we do, I guess that it only goes so far. Like the spider that fell on me just a little while ago? Yeah, the pest control people were just at the house literally yesterday. I asked my mom if I could start sleeping in the sewing room (our spare room). Seriously, did I jinx something? We’ve lived in our current house over fifteen years and while mom said that in the beginning it was bad, I was too young to remember it. Never in my life that I can remember, has a bug fallen on me from the ceiling in our house and now it’s happened twice. What gives??

I’m ranting I know, but I felt it was better than completely freaking out like I wanted to when it first happened. I guess my advice if you come to the south? Make sure you have pest control visit on a regular basis.

❤ Rachel

2 thoughts on “A Downside to Southern Living

  1. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going
    to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I
    had to ask!

    Like

    1. I’m using WordPress. When I first started my blog, I asked a friend what he recommended and he said WordPress would be good for a beginner because it’s easy to use and has a lot to offer even if you don’t subscribe and pay a monthly fee.

      Like

Leave a Reply

