Entertainment

Book Review: Kathy Reichs

How many people love to read in the summer?

I, for one, absolutely LOVE to read, regardless of the time of year. But, because I’m still in school and have some semblence of a life, it can be quite hard sometimes to do any sort of leisure reading during the year. I seem to manage somehow though, according to my friends.

Everyone has their own preferences as to what is a good summer read. But one genre that I think most can agree on is mystery thrillers. You know, the Law and Order type books. The books that have mystery, murder, and plenty of subplot. Luckily for me, one of my all-time favorite authors, Kathy Reichs, fits this perfectly. I can’t say that I remember exactly when I first discovered her books but I know that it was sometime in high school. I’ve read all of her books. Currently, I’m working my way through her new young adult series which already has two books out: Virals and Seizure. I’ve finished Virals and will start Seizure soon. Virals does a good job of combining slightly freaky supernatural with science. So, instead of being totally mythical like with vampires or werewolves, the supernatural can be explained by science. In this case, an experiment with viruses gone awry. It’s a good read. There’s a dead body (of course), people determined to keep a secret, and a cover-up that spans decades.

Alright, so for anybody who hasn’t heard of Kathy Reichs, her books are what sparked the TV show Bones. I think she has about 12 books out now not including her new Virals series. Each book follows forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan as she attempts to identify the bodies that show up on her autopsy tables. Because she commutes between Canada and Charlotte, NC, not every book takes place in the same place. One book even goes to Israel, where Temp visits hillside tombs and shows the extent to which some people will go to preserve those laid to rest centuries ago. That one’s called Cross Bones, it’s one of my favorites. Other books of hers include Bare Bones, 206 Bones, Spider Bones, Grave Secrets, Deja Dead, etc.

Ha, some of ya’ll are probably questioning my taste in reading since I mentioned before that I’d read a book about death row for fun. Truth is, the whole crime thing is fascinating. At my house, we all like those kinds of TV shows, some more than others. But if you took a look at our DVR you’d see White Collar, Law and Order:SVU, Rizzoli and Isles, Burn Notice, in addition to things like soccer, Futurama, Daily Show/Colbert Report, and Big Bang Theory. Plus, who doesn’t want to learn about how police and forensics figure it out? I mean, how else am I supposed to learn what not to do if I ever want to commit murder? Just kidding. But seriously, check her out.

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

