Life

Beach Memories

Happy Belated Fourth of July everyone!

I spent the holiday in Florida. We (mom, dad, and I) drove down on the 4th and stayed with family friends/old neighbors. I gotta tell ya, I love the beach. It’s always such a nice getaway. But my absolute favorite part? The early morning walks with my dad. I’m not even sure when they started, since we started going to the beach I guess. Or maybe when I found out that it’s almost impossible for me to sleep in while at the beach. Either way, we’ve been taking morning walks on the beach for years.

Now, it’s not just us two that go on these walks. Mom usually comes along and Jared (my brother) is a hit or miss–he really likes his sleep. But for some reason, I’ve always kind of considered it something I did with Dad. It’s so peaceful and pretty. Not too many people are on the beach yet, and it hasn’t gotten too hot yet since it’s early morning and the sun, while a bit blinding at times, is really pretty as it comes up. With the wind blowing, it’s perfect.

We collect seashells too. We’ll walk along the edge of the surf looking at what the tide washed up the night before. We’ve found some really cool shells. I found a complete conch shell one summer on one of our walks. We’d found bits and pieces of them before but not a whole one. Then there’s also the common shells and oyster shells that wash up and sometimes we’ll see bits of sand-dollars. This past weekend I found two new shells. One is a miniature circle shell (I don’t know the proper name). But the one that’s like a big spiral? It’s a bit of that one. And then the other one is so pretty. I think someone said it’s called an olive shell? Who knows. But it’s georgeous. I think Mom had to carry it back because Dad’s pockets were full and so were my hands.

Why am I mentioning this? Because family is important. I’ve always valued family but I think my appreciation of it has grown as I’ve gotten older. And now that I will be going away, really far far away this time, as opposed to just a few states away, I think I’ve been taking notice more. I know that I’ve been super blessed to have the family that I have. My parents have been married for almost 22 years and I have a younger brother that I adore and we get on really well. Ha, most people are surprised by that, the fact that we get along so well and have a lot of the same friends, seeing as we’re so close in age (2 year difference) but honestly I can’t imagine what life would be like if we didn’t get along. Now I’m not saying that we never fought when we were younger because we did, but I don’t remember it ever being too serious. Family is such a huge part of my life. Even though I’m going to school out-of-state, I don’t think I can remember more than a handful of days passing without talking to someone in my family-be it a phone call, a text, or over Skype. I guess it’s just starting to hit how different it’s going to be this fall. I won’t be able to just pick up my cell phone and call or text home whenever I want to. Instead I’ll have to stick to email and Skype while keeping in mind that there will be a six-hour time difference (France is ahead). Which is all the more reason to treasure every moment now.

“Yesterday is history, Tomorrow is a mystery, and Today is a gift; that’s why they call it the Present.”

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

