Travel

France Update

Alright, so originally the reason why I wanted to start a blog was to be able to let my family and friends at home what I was getting up to when I leave in the fall for Europe. And I still plan to do that though I very well might decide to keep this blog afterwards, who knows. Anyway. This isn’t what I’d originally thought about writing but since I just spent a good chunk of my day working on details, I figured an update was in order regarding everything France-y.

For anyone who doesn’t know, there actually is a process that you have to go through before you can even start the Visa process. As far as I can tell, everyone wishing to study abroad in France must first fill out an application through CampusFrance first. And it’s only when you get an email from them saying that you have been approved that you can actually start the Visa process. The Visa process for each country is a bit different. The professor at my school told me that France has one of the most difficult Visa processes out there. So it differs from country to country. Ireland sounds like it might be a piece of cake compared to France since it sounds much less complicated. But I digress. In addition to the CampusFrance forms, there are a number of other forms that must be filled out that go along with the actual student Visa request. On top of that, you have to make an appointment with the consulate nearest to you. For me, that means going to Atlanta. That’s as far as I’ve gotten. My mom and I made the appointment online this afternoon. We have a little time to get the forms filled out and make sure everything’s in order before we go to the consulate later in July.

We also bought my plane tickets today. That should be an interesting time. Until this past year when I flew home for break, I’d never flown by myself. Now in just a few weeks I’ll be flying to EUROPE by myself. I guess we’ll all have to wait and see how that goes. Oh! Speaking of flying to Europe, I’m going to need a place to stay right? I don’t know about any of y’all but sleeping on the streets is just not an option. The way that my schedule is set up right now is I’ll fly into Paris a few days early and stay with a family friend who lives just outside the city for a few days before taking a train to Angers, where I’ll be spending my semester. There’s a six hour time difference between the US (well, on the east coast at least) and France so it’ll take a day or so to adjust. I’m excited. And nervous.

I got a letter today informing me that a host family had been found for me. Except it sounds more like a boarding house or a family who rents out some of their rooms than a host family like the kind my friend had when she went to Ecuador. But I can’t really complain, I mean, it’s a place to stay right? And it looks like it’s only about a 15 minute walk or so to the university so that’s good.

I think that’s all I’ve got for y’all at the moment. I can’t tell you anything about what it’s like because I haven’t left yet and I don’t know anything about the classes because I have to take a placement test that will determine what I take. So…yep. Guess it’s ta-ta for now.

❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

